Delivery_Queen’s Weblog

A Walk In The Park

Posted on: August 31, 2008

My five year old has a name for each of the parks that he likes to visit. Today he wanted to go to the church park after we left church. I told him that we would go later. Later never came. He ate lunch and then he went swimming in my father’s pool. I gave him a bath and then it was time to eat again. After we left my father’s house, I decided to ask my son if he wanted to take a walk. I pulled into a big park that had a little lake. My son hasn’t made up a name for this one yet. Maybe I’ll name it the fountain park. There are several fountains and a bridge walkway over the little lake. My two boys and I sat on a bench swing overlooking the lake. It felt good to relax. I didn’t have to worry about a thing. I felt young again. Together we then walked across the bridge and saw a man catch a small mouth bass. It has been over 15 years since I have gone fishing. It brought back memories of when I would go fishing in high school with my boyfriend and my firstborn son. After  the short walk I watched my boys play on the park equipment. I watched a toddler spank my five year old on the behind. My son didn’t say anything. I thought to myself. Sometimes you may get spanked in the butt by life. But you always recover. It may sting a little and soon you forget all about it. I pushed my little one on the swing and then he pushed me when I wanted to swing. I need to learn how to be a better swinger. I want to fly up to the sky. I want to feel carefree. I want to be the woman I was meant to be. My life is a walk in the park.

Leave a Reply

