Delivery_Queen’s Weblog

Labor Day On A Maternity Ward

Posted on: September 1, 2008

Labor day on a maternity wards takes on a special meaning. I remembered when I worked the holiday I would always tell my moms this….You will never forget this day. Thank you for letting me be a part of it. I have helped countless of women through their labor pains. They came from all walks of life. I have been on the giving and receiving end of being the caregiver and being the patient. I always treated my patients the way that I would have wanted to be treated. I explained the procedures and the childbirth process to them. I explained why their doctor wouldn’t be coming to the hospital when they were only 1cm dilated. I have delivered countless numbers of babies who just couldn’t wait. Being a labor and delivery nurse was my labor of love. I loved it. I recently looked in the Sunday job section and saw that a new hospital is opening up in Oct. They are offering a $5,000 sign on bonus for the midnight shift. I thought about it for a moment and then thought to myself I will never return to a very difficult job. Countless hours of standing. Many a night not being able to go to the bathroom for over 8 hours. Missed lunches and extreme hunger pains. Priceless moments in my life that I really don’t care to relive. I closed that chapter on my life 2 years ago. Every day was Labor day during my career as a Labor and Delivery nurse for 17 years. I am grateful for the experience. Another life lesson learned…..Another life lesson shared.

Leave a Reply

