Delivery_Queen’s Weblog

How Negative Thoughts And Emotions Can Choke You

Posted on: September 6, 2008

I spent about an hour this morning pulling all different kinds of weeds from a corner of my lawn. I noticed that the weeds were out of control when I took the dog out this morning. I sat on a milk crate and used a garden tool to get down to the roots of the prickly weeds. I thought to myself that the weeds were like negative thoughts and emotions. What made the weeds grow in my lawn? The conditions were right….Nice green grass, nutrients and of course weed seeds. How do negative thoughts and emotions get into our lives? We allow it to. The conditions are right….Self pity, poor self esteem, anxiety, depression, fear. The list can go on and on. This morning I made a decision to pull the weeds that were choking my lawn. Today for this moment I choose to have a positive attitude. I will not let the negativity of others creep into my life and take root within me. I will try my best to surround myself with positive people. I will read inspirational books. I will do what it takes to break free from negative thoughts and emotions. One day at a time. One hour at a time. One minute at a time.

Leave a Reply

