Delivery_Queen’s Weblog

Cutting Food Expenses

Posted on: September 20, 2008

I have decided to experiment with my food expenses over the next few months and see what I can do. In October I plan on putting $100.00 in five separate envelopes. My goal is to use only what is in each week’s envelope and not to dip into the next weeks envelope. What is left over for the week will then be rolled over into the month of November’s envelopes. There are a total of five people in my household. This will be a challenge. I am already pretty good at using what’s on sale at the stores in planning my day to day dinner menus. Each child has their own preferences. My oldest usually eats out. He will not be a problem. I just need to make sure I have lots of Cheerios on hand for him. Chicken and pork chops are favorite of my 14 year old son. Hamburger Helper can be a cheap and easy meal. I can sometimes find it at 10 for $10.00. I remember 20 years ago practically living on ramen noodles. I have since graduated from cooking with it. Although using left over meat and frozen vegetables always makes a quick and easy meal. I don’t use coupon as much as I used too. I found that I bought items that I really didn’t need. Right now my cabinets are full of canned vegetables, soup, tomato sauce, tuna, peanut butter and jelly. For seasonings I mainly use soy sauce, oregano, and occasionally salt. I love inventing different recipes and trying out on the boys. They will let me know most of the time how they like it. The number one indicator that something is pleasing to them is……..When they tell me that it smells good. For a meal to be appealing it has to please the senses of smell, taste and sight.I can’t wait to see how my food expense challenge will turn out. I will keep you up to date on it. How do you save on your monthly food expenses?I have been thinking of checking this out…. http://www.angelfoodministries.com

Leave a Reply

