Delivery_Queen’s Weblog

My Life Changed………

Posted on: September 22, 2008

My life changed the day I found out I was pregnant at the age of sixteen in 1981. I decided to keep the baby rather than have an abortion. Having an abortion was against my religious beliefs. I had my firstborn son in December of 1981. I had him over Christmas break and I didn’t have to miss a whole lot of high school. During my Junior year of high school, I was inducted into the National Honor Society. I maintained my NHS honors throughout my high school career. My mother and father encouraged me to become a nurse. I started to take my nursing prerequisite courses even before I graduated high school. I loved going to college. I felt that I fit in there much better than I did in high school. I was pretty much of a loner or burnout in my early high school years. Having my son saved me from my self destructive behaviors. Having my son helped me when I became a Labor and Delivery nurse in 1989. I have always had a deep compassion for young teen moms. When I took care of a teenager, I would encourage her to stay in school. I would tell her a little of my success story. I would get a lot of thank you cards from my patients. It made me happy to see that I was making a difference in a  young mother’s life. I wonder what those young mothers are like today. Do they talk about the caring nurse that took care of them? Do they remember me? I wonder….. My life is changing all the time.

1 Response to "My Life Changed………"

I add you on my blogroll so i can read your blog always because i cant read it all at once.. lol..hope to know you better through your blog

Leave a Reply

