Delivery_Queen’s Weblog

Do You Want Another Baby?

Posted on: September 27, 2008

I went shopping yesterday at a local grocery store with my father and my youngest son. When I was going to the check out isle my son sow some baby clothes on sale. All of a sudden he said…..Do you want another baby? I said no because you are my baby. He replied….I am not a baby. In my eyes he will always be my baby. He is my last one. He will always be the baby of the family. I knew that having more children would forever be out of the question. I had a tubal ligation at the age of 38 the day my son was born. I have always had high risk pregnancies. I was high risk with my first born son when I was a teenage mother. I had premature labor with my second son and had him at 34 weeks. I had placenta previa with my third son and I was on a terbutaline pump for premature labor. I had him at 37 weeks. He shares the same birthday as his older brother. I had gestational diabetes and preterm contractions with my last son. I am no stranger to high risk pregnancies. I think that is why so many of my  patients bonded with me. I shared my stories with them. I inspired them. I taught many mothers in the high risk area to crochet. I wonder since I have left my job….How many women have returned to have another baby? How many woman have asked for me by my name. I will never know. What I do know is this….I made a difference to many woman having babies in Labor and Delivery.

Leave a Reply

