Delivery_Queen’s Weblog

Cable Hearts Afghan

Posted on: October 19, 2008

I started working on this pattern two days ago. http://www.geocities.com/cdjsimon/cableheart.htmlAt this point I am on row 8. When I first discovered this pattern a few years back, I thought that I would never understand some of the crochet terminology. I had never learned how to do a split fptr. But I did learn through trial and error. The pattern says it is for a 12 inch square. I will continue going in a square pattern until it will cover a little baby that weighs less than one lb. I have seen many tiny babies born too soon. I have made many blankets for those babies. I have held many of them in my hands. Many mothers have pictures of my hand next to their babies. I wanted them to know just how tiny their babies were. In my prior job as a labor and delivery nurse, I comforted many mothers and fathers who have lost their infants through miscarriage or stillbirth. I have many cards from those parents. Oftentimes I would write them a personal note and take it to them in their new rooms on the medical surgical floor. I wanted to let them know that they were in my thoughts and prayers. I never expected anything in return. I just wanted to make a difference in their lives. I realize now that I can still make a difference in the lives of grieving parents. I still continue to make blankets and hats for the hospital that I used to work for. I hope to expand my charitable work this next year to other local hospitals.

Leave a Reply

