Delivery_Queen’s Weblog

New Year’s Babies

Posted on: December 30, 2009

One holiday that I always loved to work was New Year’s eve. There’s nothing like seeing if your hospital would be the first the first to have the area’s first baby of the new year. I remember ringing in 2006 with the area’s first baby of the new year. It was exciting knowing that I beat one of my fellow coworkers by 16 minutes. It was always a challenge on the unit……. Soon after midnight other area hospitals would call to see if we had a delivery yet. In 2006 the married couple I had beat an unwed teen. I was so happy for the couple. I knew that their story would be published and they would receive gifts donated from local businesses. I wonder if that will happen this year. Will local businesses throughout the United States be willing to donate services to the new families? What a way to promote their business. Just think of the word of mouth promotions it would bring the local business.

Leave a Reply

