Delivery_Queen’s Weblog

The Greatest Valentine Gift Of All

Posted on: February 14, 2010

The greatest valentine gift of  all came to me in the form of several hugs from my six year old. He was so excited to see me be at his Valentine’s party at school. He ran up to me several times to give me surprise hugs. Several times this past week he would come up to me and say….”Now close your eyes really tight……” I would try to peek but he would say…….” I told you to close your eyes.” All of a sudden he would plant a kiss on my cheek. It’s those simple moments in life that I want to remember of my son. A moment that could never be captured by a camera. I often tell myself that I need to write it down before I forget. I have decided to save the valentines he received at the valentines party plastic bag along with a few pictures that I took of him. One special picture will be of the both of us together. I cherish the moments of pure parental joy. The simple things my child says to me…. “Mom put on your seat belt or the policeman will get you.” Yes my son……I know you want me to be safe. No my son he won’t arrest me for being stopped for doing 37 mph in a 25 mph zone. The greatest gift from the policeman was……Next time don’t do it. I’ll always remember the day you distracted me by your chatter in the back seat my little one. Because I was paying attention to you and not the speed limit. I’ll pay attention to the signs next time. But for now I choose to listen to your chatter for as long as I can…….Before you grow up too fast. You are my funny Valentine. I love you so…….Love you to infinity and beyond……..MOM

Leave a Reply

