Delivery_Queen’s Weblog

The Heart Of The Matter

Posted on: February 18, 2010

My dearest youngest son,

       Both yesterday and today you reminded me that you need to wear gym shoes to school. Today I told you twice to put on your shoes. Instead you didn’t listen to me. I watched you jump out in the middle of the yard with your boots on. I was too tired to think. When the school bus came, I noticed you had your boots on. I told you…..Oh well I told you to put your shoes on twice. The look on your face was of pure disappointment. I watched you go back to your seat. I ran into the house and got your shoes just as the school bus was about to pull away. She opened the door for me and we met on the steps…… Now you have your shoes my son. I am so proud of you. For today you will jump for a child who cannot jump. Today you will jump for a child with heart disease. Today I watched you jump in the snow. I can’t help but think about the child that can’t jump in the snow. The one who’s too sick. The one who’s heart beats with cardiovascular disease. I feel proud that you my son are doing something for another little one. Today I watched you grow up a little more. Through your little part in school today, I hope that another child will grow up healthy with a stronger heart free of disease.

                                                               Love,

                                                               Mom

www.americanheart.org/jump

Leave a Reply

