Delivery_Queen’s Weblog

Another I Know You Sighting

Posted on: August 4, 2010

I was loading up my car with groceries when the lady next to my car said…..”I know you….Didn’t you used to work at the hospital? I responded yes and that I had quit. She said to me …….”You were my favorite nurse.” I had a great conversation with both her and her husband. It’s funny how after almost 4 years since I quit my job people still remember me. I ended up giving her my business card. I know that I will be hearing from her. Although I may not remember all the patients I have ever taken care of, I know that the care that I gave them reflected my core values of a nurse. The patients could see that I really did care for their well being. Sometimes I do get emotional when I think that I can never be a labor and delivery nurse again. Being a labor and delivery nurse inspired me to help at risk young mothers and women who have experienced the loss of their babies through miscarriage or still birth. Yes there are days when I miss that. But for today I am just another ordinary human being.

Leave a Reply

